May 09, 2019


Thank you to our Arena Members and Vendor Members for attending the 2019 MIAMA Spring Workshop!

MIAMA would like to thank the

Red Baron Arena & Expo for hosting our

2019 MIAMA Spring Workshop!

MIAMA Spring Workshop Survey:
Please take 5 minutes of your time to fill out the 2019 MIAMA Spring Workshop Survey.
Even if you didn’t attend, please fill it out and provide feedback on why you weren’t able to attend.
Here is the link:
MIAMA Board of Directors
If you are interested in joining the MIAMA Board of Directors and giving back to your industry, please make sure to enter your information in the survey. Deadline to put your name on the ballot is June 1st. Voting will take place from June 15th – July 15th.
Your MIAMA Board Thanks you!

2019 MIAMA James Padgett Award Winner:

Dean Mulso, Recreation Facilities Manager
The City of Burnsville is proactive in making repairs to an aging facility to keep it up to industry standards, keep hazards from causing customers concern and creates a great working environment for employees.
Providing proper maintenance to the facility has kept our 47 year our Gary R Harker rink and our 34 year Rink 2 portion of the facility looking new to our customers.
The City of Burnsville on these three maintenance projects that follow, will invest $1,147,705.00 in 2017, 2018 and 2019 combined.
Project #1: Replaced front main sidewalks and the paver front entry area. They had uneven areas in the sidewalks and the pavers were chipping out. All this created hazards for customers and maintenance issues for staff. The Burnsville Ice Center also replaced two pedestrian ramps into parking lot to ease our handicap customer concerns.
Cost of the project was $56,000.00 and completed in June 2017.
Project #2: After 20 years, the Burnsville Ice Center professionally stained all exterior wood and use vandal proof paint to paint all the buttresses.
Cost of the project was $31,705.00 and completed in September/October 2018.
Project #3: The Burnsville Ice Center replaced four of its five roofs. The Gary R. Harker Roof has three layers that had to be torn off along with Rink 2 having two layers that had to be torn off. The Burnsville Ice Center roofs were replaced with 80 mil TPO material with a 30-year warranty.
Cost of the project was $1,060,00.00 and projected completion is March-June 2019.
James F. Padgett History
The James F. Padgett Award is named after James F. Padgett who was a leader in our industry early in MIAMA. Padge as he was known, was the Parks & Recreation Director for the City of Virginia and operated the Miners Memorial Building. Padge unfortunately left us too soon at the age of 52 in 1984. In 2015 the City of Virginia renamed the back rink at the Miners Memorial Building the James Padgett Rink in his honor for all the hard work he did for the area.
The annual award is presented to an ice arena that has distinguished itself as a leader, innovator and contributor to the ice arena industry.
MIAMA urges each member facility to apply for the James F. Padgett award no matter the size of the project. More information on the application process is available at:
Applications are accepted annually in March with the winner announced at the Spring Workshop.
James F. Padgett Award Information
The winner of the 2019 James Padgett Award will recieve two (2) full conference registration fee’s (course attendance required when courses are offered at conference) and double occupancy lodging.
*if you’ve taken the courses offered at this conference, you can opt out of the class and attend Wednesday-Friday
Padgett Award Winner 2019

2019 Al Payne Fall Conference

Grant Winners

The Al Payne Conference Grant is named after Alan K. Payne who worked at the Richfield Ice Arena until he passed due to cancer in 2007. Al was a former MIAMA President (1988-89) and long-time Secretary/Treasurer (1996-2004)
The grant includes the full conference registration fee (course attendance required when courses are offered at conference) and double occupancy lodging. ($1,000 value)
Applications are accepted annually in March with the winner announced at the Spring Workshop.
This years grant winners include:(left to right)
Sean Larson: Anoka Area Ice Arena
Chad Jameson: Drake Arena/St. Paul Academy
Jeremy McLaughlin: Schwan’s Super Rink
Dave Hanson: Burnsville Ice Center
Renae Zink: Richfield Ice Arena (not pictured)
Donny Thompson: Silver Bay Parks & Recreation (not pictured)
Matt Nelson: Lakeville Arenas (not pictured)
Congratulations to you all and we’ll see you at Sugar Lake Lodge in September!
Al Payne winners 2019

2019 MIAMA Full Membership Vendors

All American Feb 2018
Arena Warehouse
B 32
Becker_Logo Fall 2018
Carlson Stewert 2018
Honeywell Logo
McKinstry - 10-2015
RR logo-small
Master Electric
zamboni connect white
facebook twitter
May 9, 2019: MIAMA around the Rink – Bi-weekly e-newsletter