The James F. Padgett Award is named after James F. Padgett who was a leader in our industry early in MIAMA. Padge as he was known, was the Parks & Recreation Director for the City of Virginia and operated the Miners Memorial Building. Padge unfortunately left us too soon at the age of 52 in 1984. In 2015 the City of Virginia renamed the back rink at the Miners Memorial Building the James Padgett Rink in his honor for all the hard work he did for the arena. 

The annual award is presented to an ice arena that has distinguished itself as a leader, innovator and contributor to the ice arena industry.

The winner of the 2021 James Padgett Award will recieve two (2) full conference registration fee’s (course attendance required when courses are offered at conference) and double occupancy lodging. *if you’ve taken the courses offered at this conference,  you can opt out of the class and attend Wednesday-Friday.


The 2022 James Padgett Award application will be available in early Spring 2022.


Padgett Old Photo in Office

Padgett on Old Zamboni


2021 – Bloomington Ice Garden James Padgett Award Application

2020 – Cottage Grove Ice Arena James Padgett Award Application

2018 – Mars Lakeview Arena James Padgett Award Application