March 2016 Monthly Board Member Article

We want to hear from you!


The MIAMA Board of Directors will be awarding the James Padgett Award and Alan K. Payne Conference Grants at the Spring Workshop in May. These awards are a way for us to honor arenas and arena operators that excel in their field. We know there are many rinks each year that are making a difference in their community and we want showcase that to all of our members.

The James Padgett Award is an award given annually to recognize an outstanding arena in management, maintenance, programs, special events, cost savings and/or new ideas. We encourage all arenas that have undergone a renovation, started a new program or went above the call of duty to apply for the award. The winning arena will be recognized at the Spring Workshop in May at the Bielenberg Sports Center. Along with a plaque, the winning entry will also receive two full Fall Conference registrations including courses and lodging.


In addition to the James Padgett Award, MIAMA will also be awarding a minimum of four Alan K. Payne Fall Workshop Grants at the Spring Workshop this May as well. Each grant winner will receive a full Fall Conference registration including courses and lodging. The Fall Conference grant is a great way for non-management staff to attend the conference at no charge.


We encourage all facilities and individuals to consider applying for these awards. Part of what has made our organization so strong is the high level of participation by our members.

If you have any questions about the application process please contact myself or any other board member.


Additional information and applications will be available soon on our website at


MIAMA President – Shayne Ratcliff



Jon Balvance

MIAMA Communications Director


Follow us on Twitter: @MIAMARINKS

Like us on Facebook: Minnesota Ice Arena Managers Association


Similar Posts